Welcome to the Fieldhockey.com Archives

Daily Hockey news updated @ 10:00 GMT

News for 04 January 2016

All the news for Monday 4 January 2015

Navy put seven past PAF to reach last-eight

KARACHI: Two goals apiece from Asad Aziz and Mohsin Sabir guided Navy to an emphatic 7-0 win over PAF which took them to the quarter-finals of the 62nd National Hockey Championship, while Wapda defeated Customs 3-1 and Port Qasim Authority (PQA) drew 2-2 against Pakistan Railways to book their place in the last-eight at the Hockey Club of Pakistan Stadium on Sunday.

Navy’s Aziz opened the scoring after successfully converting a penalty corner in the third minute of the match while Sabir doubled the lead two minutes later.

Two more penalty corners, one in the 17th minute by Aziz and another in the 26th by Sabir, made it 4-0 before Ali Sher, Ahmed and Kamran Asif scored one goal each in the 29th, 39th and 51st minutes to complete the seven-goal rout.

In another match, Wapda defeated Customs 3-1 as goals from Mohammed Usman, Rana Umair and Mohammad Shehbaz sealed the game. Both sides were able to keep each other at bay for the first 41 minutes of the match before Usman broke the deadlock while Umair doubled the lead two minutes later to all but end the tie as a contest. Shehbaz further piled misery on Customs with his strike in the 58th minute and even though Asim Khan found a consolation a minute later, it was too little too late.

Meanwhile, PQA came from behind to draw 2-2 against Pakistan Railways to finish second in the group behind PIA.

Railways had taken a 2-0 lead by the 43rd minute giving PQA, who were firm favourites to win the encounter with Olympians Kashif Jawwad and Shakeel Abbasi among their ranks, a wake-up call when Ahmed Nadeem opened the scoring in the 41st minute while Railways skipper Mohammad Usman doubled the lead two minutes later.

PQA managed to halve the deficit in the 45th minute through Jawwad and found the equaliser just seconds later when Zubair Riyaz converted from a penalty corner.

The Express Tribune

Navy, Wapda triumphant in National Hockey

LAHORE - Pakistan Navy and Pakistan Wapda registered victories in the ongoing 62nd National Hockey Championship at the Hockey Club of Pakistan (HCP) Stadium on Sunday.

Pakistan Railways and Port Qasim Authority (PQA) drew their match 2-2.

Navy carved out thumping 7-0 victory against Pakistan Air Force (PAF) and Wapda edge out Pakistan Customs 3-1 after a hard-fought contest.

Railways gave very tough time to their superior opponents.

They defended their fort bravely and frustrated a number of attacks launched by PQA forwards who had services of Olympians Kashif Jawwad and Shakeel Abbasi in their ranks.

Ahmed Nadeem surprised PQA defender scoring a beautiful field goal in the 41st minute.

Two minutes later, their combined move earned a penalty corner on which captain M Usman scored the second goal.

After conceding two goals in a span of just three minutes, PQA forwards realized to change their easy approach towards the match.

Kashif Jawwad reduced the margin in the 45th minute through a field goal and Zubair Riyaz successful converted a penalty corner in the 45th minute to level the score.

At 2-2, both teams fought hard to excel.

Railways defenders thwarted a couple of attempts on their citadel and guarded it magnificently.

Haroon and Afsar supervised the match.

Two goals each by Asad Aziz and Mohsin Sabir guided Navy to a one-sided victory against PAF.

Asad scored goals on penalty corners in the 3rd and 17th minutes.

Mohsin slammed a field goal in the 5th minute and converted a penalty corner in the 26th minute.

Ali Sher, Ahmed and Kamran Asif scored one goal each in the 29th, 39th and 51st minutes.

Sohail Janjua and Anwar were the field umpires.

Customs fought hard against Wapda in the last match of the day.

Their tough resistance kept Wapda forwards struggling to find gaps and create chances.

M Usman grabbed the opportunity in the 41st minute to strike the first goal for Wapda.

Rana Umair doubled the lead through a 43rd minute field goal.

M Shehbaz’s goal in the 58th minute strengthened their grip on the match.

Customs’ lone goal came in the 59th minute through Asim Khan.

Kamran and Moheyuddin supervised the match.

Today (Monday)’s matches: Pakistan Television vs Steels Mills, National Bank of Pakistan vs Pakistan Air Force.

The Nation

Tenaga bank on K. Rajan to revive BJSS

By Jugjet Singh

TENAGA Nasional are not only title sponsors of the Junior Hockey League (JHL), but will also have four teams battling for honours starting Jan 15.

It all started with Bandar Penawar Sports School (BPSS) Thunderbolts, which evolved into Sekolah Sukan Tunku Mahkota Ismail (SSTMI) Thunderbolts and became a winning machine which has four consecutive doubles under their belt (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015).

BPSS were never in the picture before the Thunderbolts programme was introduced nine years ago, as back then the champions were Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS) who has seven League and five Overall titles.

The Thunderbolts programme by Tenaga is now in three other schools -- BJSS, Pahang Sports School and Anderson.

Former national juniors coach K. Rajan, a Tenaga employee, has been tasked to revive BJSS' fortunes.

"BJSS used to be the feared school in JHL as they won seven straight League titles from 2003 to 2009 (and Overall titles in 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008 and 2009).

"But after the Thunderbolts programme was introduced in BPSS, BJSS were left far behind. Tenaga has started the programme in BJSS this season, and hopefully the school will start producing results again in a few years time," said K. Rajan who also used to coach Tenaga in the JHL.

Three Thunderbolts will play in Division One, while Anderson in Division One.

"There will be a standard training format for all Thunderbolts, but when we come to a head-to-head clash, there will be no mercy for our sister teams as each has targets to achieve.

"In a way, this programme will develop a big pool of young players for the country," said Rajan.

Tenaga are the only all-local team in the Malaysia Hockey League, and with four junior teams as feeders for the senior side, they are spending their money wisely and not lavishly by hiring foreigners to play in the MHL all the other teams.

This JHL season will see 10 teams in Division one and 26 teams divided into three zones in Division Two.

Nine teams will play in the South Zone, eight in Central and nine in North. This was done to cut down on travelling as well as cost per team.

Jugjet's World of Field Hockey

Stephen van Huizen's 40

MALAYSIAN SENIOR TRAINING SQUAD: S. Kumar, Hairi Rahman, Hafizuddin Othman,  Hazrul Faiz, Razie Rahim, Sukri Mutalib, Aslam Hanafiah, Izad Hakimi, Harmesh Singh, Harmeet Singh, Shahrun Nabil, Shazril Irwan, Baljit Singh, Nabil Fiqri, Azri Hassan, Harvinder Singh, Joel Samuel Van Huizen, Faiz Helmi, Marhan Jalil, Fitri Saari, Ramadan Rosli, Norhizzat Sumantri, Meor Azuan, Rashid Baharom, Dedy Ariyadi, Hafiz Zainol, Faridzul Afiq, Dangerous Lee, Firhan Ashari, Shahril Saabah, Haziq Samsul, Izwan Firdaus, Firdaus Omar, Amirul Aideed, Najib Abu Hassan, Sufi Ismat, Ridzwan Azmi, Nik Aiman, Najmi Jazlan, Nor Syafiq Sumantri.

Jugjet's World of Field Hockey

Fieldhockey.com uses cookies to assist with navigating between pages. Please leave the site if you disagree with this policy.
Copyright remains with the credited source or author